Election Diary; Overdue

Stephanie Here and Now
4 min readSep 27, 2024
Winter lunch in the upstairs porch at the little house

It’s been longer than I intended between making entries in this series. Not going to apologize, it’s just something worth noting. I’m no Samuel Pepys, that’s for sure.

As I write, little songbirds are coming and going from the feeder attached to the window next to my desk. I’ve made a resolution that the feeder is only available while I’m at my desk. That sounds a bit cruel but it is because I love the native birds in New England and if the feeder is there all the time, starlings and house sparrows bully them and chase them away. So I’m accompanied by a few tufted titmice, chickadees, blue jays and cardinals. One blue jay bumped his head in his excitement to get some sunflower seeds. I hope he’s okay.

In a month, we will move here, to the little house. It’s already starting to feel a little unsafe at the loft. The thing about living in such a dramatic space is that it does draw attention, and it labels us “liberal elites.” Being Jewish under our present circumstances, in a rural area that has leaned red in the past, (yes, they exist, even in New England) well, that’s hard enough. Adding the “affluent college educated artsy type” label to it only makes things worse. We’re not affluent. We are solidly middle class. If we were affluent, I wouldn’t have to worry about the fact that the fence at the little house is non-existent on one side and falling down on the other. I could…

--

--

Stephanie Here and Now

American from Canada. Writer Researcher. I'm new around here.