Hello Medium, you are hanging by a thread, stop signing me out.

Stephanie Here and Now
2 min readJun 23, 2023

--

With two dozen plus subscriptions and password protected accounts, a rental house to manage with six streaming TVs that must all be popped in and out of guest mode on a regular basis and the constant struggle to stay anonymous enough that I am not totally creeped out and nauseated every time I open my phone, Medium needs to learn that they are not in a position to randomly sign me out of my account without risking a flat Goodbye. I have a paid subscription, you send me a dozen useless emails every damned day, you should be able to keep track of my account.

That may be more of a comment on the relevance of this platform than I originally thought.

First came the demonetization of small accounts like mine. Sure, I may not have made more than a few cents but having the potential always made me feel good about writing in this space. Now there’s this. Just about every time I click on an email link from Medium it involves being solicited for a subscription and then asked to sign in again. It’s not much but it is, as the Texans say, “a burr in my saddle” and living in an era where everybody, everyday is shilling for my paid eyeballs to sign in or sign up or subscribe, that’s enough to kick you off the ranch.

Get it?

That’s all I have to say today. I came here to write something else but fuckit. That energy can go to substack.

--

--

Stephanie Here and Now

American from Canada. Writer Researcher. I'm new around here.